All 5 Senses staff are CRB and ISA checked and are trained above CQC minimum care standards in the following fields:

  • Health and Safety
  • Epilepsy
  • Food Hygiene
  • First Aid
  • Manual Handling
  • Medication
  • Buccal Midazolam
  • Equality and Diversity
  • NVCI (Non Violent Crisis Intervention)
  • SOVA (Safeguarding of Vulnerable Adults)
  • Mental Capacity Act
  • Deprivation of Liberty
  • Fire Safety

Additional specialist training is also provided for staff, enabling them to support students with specific needs, for example Autism, PEG, Intensive Interaction, Sensory Integration and assistance with Postural Management.

Support workers are also given the opportunity to gain the following qualifications:
NVQ 2 and NVQ 3 in Health & Social Care

All teaching staff have a PTLLS qualification and are encouraged to complete higher level teaching qualifications up to PGCE (Post Graduate Certificate in Education) level.